· 

5 Directors I would like to see in Star Wars Television

Last year, The Mandalorian broke ground by being the first live-action Star Wars television series, and with that, it introduced us to 5 great directors. Season 2 already wrapped shooting, and with Carl Weathers, Jon Favreau himself and probably one more new director, it will show us even more directorial talent, that hasn't worked on Star Wars before. But with at least two more shows in developement, what are some directors I would like to see in future Star Wars television shows?

David Nutter

David Nutter is well known for directing pilots, which made him the logical choice for me to kick this list off. He has directed the pilots of some great shows, including Arrow and Supernatural, but you might also know him from Game Of Thrones, which he directed 9 episodes of, including the legendary red wedding episode The Rains Of Castamere. While he might not do groundbrakingly new stuff, he always deliveres a good result, and therefore would be a good choice for Star Wars television.

Diego Luna

Diego Luna as Cassian Andor in Rogue One
Diego Luna as Cassian Andor in Rogue One

After the rather safe first option, let's continue with a more unexpected choice: Cassian Andor himself Diego Luna. He is obviously starring in his own series, so he could go on to direct an episode of it as well. While Luna is well known for his acting, he has a few directing credits to his name as well, including 3 feature films, all of them Mexican productions. Since television is a good place to get a foot into directing, his own series might be interesting for him if he wants to go that direction in Hollywood long term.

Uta Briesewitz

You might not have heard of Uta Briesewitz before, but I am quite sure you've seen some of her work. The German cinematographer and director has directed episodes of (amongst others) Fear The Walking Dead, Orange Is The New Black, Altered Carbon and Stranger Things, but what made me really interested in her work was the amazing episode Kiksuya, the eighth and in my opinion by far best episode of Westworld's second season (and trust me, I love Westworld). Briesewitz has started to really make a name for herself as television director in the last years, and I would love to see her style come to Star Wars.

Scott Derrickson

I know that Scott Derrickson is not very likely to direct Star Wars television, especially after his departure from Marvel's Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness over "creative differences". But I am a big fan of his work, especially the way he is able to mix Horror with other genres, as shown in The Exorcism Of Emily Rose (or as he would probably have     done again in the Doctor Strange sequel, if he had not left the project). His unique style could be really interesting for Star Wars, so even though it is rather unlikely, I would love to see him as a director in either Star Wars movies or television.

Michael Giacchino

Michael Giacchino as Stormtrooper FN-3181 on the set of Star Wars: The Force Awakens with director J. J. Abrams
Michael Giacchino as Stormtrooper FN-3181 on the set of Star Wars: The Force Awakens with director J. J. Abrams

And I will conclude this list with another person that worked on Doctor Strange, but in a very different way: Oscar-winning composer Michael Giacchino. Actually, the Doctor Strange score was what really got me interested in his work, and when I read that he'd score Rogue One, I was super excited (and I still love that score!). But also his work on Star TrekJurassic WorldPlanets Of The Apes, multiple Pixar films etc. makes him one of my favourite composers in Hollywood at the moment. Giacchino also started to get a foot into directing with his super fun 2018 short film Monster Challenge, which he just released publicly on YouTube. He also directed an animated episode of Star Trek: Short Treks, and in recent interviews he mentioned that he'd like to do more directorial work in the future. Giacchino said he even filmed lightsaber fights as a child, and he for sure still is a big nerd who loves Star Wars. As I said, I am a huge fan of Michael Giacchino's work, so I would love too see what he can do with Star Wars television.

But what do you think? Who is your dream director for Star Wars television? Tell me in the comments!

If you enjoyed this blog, please share it with your friends follow me on Facebook or Instagram.

Write a comment

Comments: 0