· 

The 6 Star Wars TV series I'd love to see on Disney+

With Disney's own streaming service Disney+ set to launch this year, we all are looking forward to the first live-action Star Wars TV series, Jon Favreau's The Mandalorian, as well as the final season of beloved animation series The Clone Wars, and an already announced live-action series about pre-Rogue One Cassian Andor (as well as new Marvel TV series etc.). But since rumours aregoing wild about what else we might see on D+ (especially an Obi-Wan series seems to be an option), here are my 6 ideas for Star Wars TV series I'd love to see on Disney+.

I decided to focuse on non-rumored TV series for now, I might do another blog on the current rumours later.

Maul - Crimson Dawn

We've seen Maul come back to live in The Clone Wars, we've seen him in Solo - A Star Wars Story, and we've seen an awesome conclusion of his character arc in Rebels. His story is maybe the best-written in all Star Wars, thanks to Dave Filoni. But what we haven't seen is what he did between TCW and Rebels, except the short teaser in Solo. I would love to see Maul's story explored, from the scatters of his alliance after The Clone Wars to being the head of Crimson Dawn, to being stranded on Malachor, broken and without any hope. On this journey, it would be possible to include two of my favourite characters from Solo, Dryden Vos and Enfys Nest, as well as Emilia Clarke's Qi'ra. Appearances of Tobias Beckett and his crew would be cool too, as well as Lando Calrissian.

Head behind this series might be Dave Filoni, with Ron Howard as just one possible director. I'm sure there would be plenty of stories to tell, and I don't think anyone who has seen TCW and Rebels would not want to see this.

The "life of normal citizens"-sitcom

I've recently re-watched the much-hated (but in my eyes brilliant) series finale of How I Met Your Mother, and to me it showed the strength of the whole series: It showed what life is like, both good and bad sides. 

In Star Wars, we only see the "cool" sides of life - Jedi and Sith, Smugglers and Outlaws - but what we miss, is the life of "normal" citizens, living with the burdens of war, the Empire or the unstability after the fall of the Empire. Some books tried to go into that direction, especially Rogue One: Catalyst and Ahsoka stick to my mind in that context, but also Aftermath. But still all of these were tied into a bigger story, into an "important" place for the universe's history. I would love to see a story about a group of normal people, living their life, dealing with both consequeces of galactic history and normal changes in life. Yes, this might be in the comedic shape of a sitcom, because that is the only way to not make this story boring for "casual" fans.

I think the HIMYM-showrunners Craig Thomas and Carter Bays might be the right people to tell this story. They have proven to be able to connect serious topics and the uncomfortability of life with a great humor and see-worthy stories, and they showed their love for Star Wars in some HIMYM episodes, so this would be really funny to watch.

The weird group

We'll stay in the region of funny and not-so-seriously-meant ideas, and this idea was massively inspired by The Force Center's podcast about dream-cameos in The Mandalorian. A group of individuals that would never come together, including Maximilian Veers, an Ewok-bountyhunter and Bib Fortuna, has to do some kind of task together. Yes, it would be super weird and pretty random, but it would be great fun! Let Quentin Tarantino write his awesome dialogues and make this as bloody as he wants, and we would see something truly unique!

The Old Republic

Now we're coming to more serious ideas again, and this one would be great fun for everyone loving the Old Republic videogames. A series, following a Padawan or a Sith-Acolyte (or both) fr0m doing missions with their masters to becoming masters themselves, kinda like the story of the character classes in The Old Republic (but with a new story of course). It would be cool to see both sides and have them in a situation the two main characters are forced to collaborate.

Possible authors for this series would include the great Drew Karpyshyn, who has done great work on the Darth Bane book trilogy, the Revan book and many more. For directors I think there would be room to let young and unknown television directors do one or two episodes each.

New Animation Series

Yes, I know the animation-team is working on Resistance right now, but let's be honest, who watches Resistance? I don't even want to hate on the series, I'm sure it is great fun for kids, but I would love to see a new more mature animation series. I loved The Clone Wars and really look forward to the final season, and I'm pretty sure that it will have exactly the tone I'm looking for. So let the guys at LucasFilm Animation and especially Dave Filoni do a new series like that about I-don't-even-care-what for an older audience, everyone is gfoing to love it anyways!

Thrawn

Now we'll come to my personal favourite of these, a series about what happened to Thrawn and Ezra after the finale of Rebels. With Ahoka and Sabine going to search for them, I could imagine a story set in the unknown regions, where Thrawn and Ezra (and Snips and Sabine) have to work together, possibly joined by the Chiss, to defeat a big threat (the Yuuzhan Vong?), which is able to destory the whole galaxy as we know it. This could be the animation series I named above, but to be honest I would love to see this in live action, with Ashley Eckstein as Ahsoka and Dave Filoni as showrunner and director. But no matter in which format, I want more Thrawn, more Snips, and more of the unknown regions, and this would be the perfect way to do all of that. And let's be honest: Who didnt think of exactly this after seeing the finale of Rebels? I actually think Dave already has something like this in mind and hope he get's the chance to explore this story.

But what do you think, which of these would you like to happen and what would you like to see on Disney+? Leave a comment below!

Comments: 2
  • #2

    TobiThrawn (Saturday, 23 February 2019 00:25)

    Thanks Ben :)
    I think we all would love to see more TCW, but I don't think they'll continue after season 7.
    The Maul-story would leave room for character developement for Qi'ra and possibly for Enfys Nest, and the Thrawn-Story would have character developement mostly in the relationship between Ezra and Thrawn.
    I think the Benioff/Weiss movies will be about the beginning of Jedi and Sith, so exploring (and to a certain degree re-canonizing) the TOR-stories would make sense, and it is rumoured LucasFilm is thinking about a Bane-series (more on that in a blog tomorrow), so I'm quite confident they'll do something in that time period.
    And the sitcom wasn't meant that seriosly. I would kinda love to see it, but I know it's probably never gonna happen and I'm cool with that.

  • #1

    Ben (Saturday, 23 February 2019 00:06)

    Awesome blog, Tobi! Honestly, I would be completely happy if they would just finish up the already scripted Seasons 7 and 8 of TCW and then go back in time and give us some more Clone Wars content.

    In my opinion the stories of Maul and Thrawn should rather be adapted as movies or novels but not necessarily as a series, since there would be little room for character growth which is an essential element of a TV show. I'd love to see a show taking place some thousand years before the movies, though, but I think it won't happen unless they turn SWTOR into canon first. Your other suggestions are also interesting, but since shows are quite expensive and they can only realize a limited number of them, I'd rather see Clone Wars and TOR than a Star Wars sitcom :D